A nice historical house to visit, with gardens to explore as well.
1.5 miles east of Wotton-under-Edge and 1.75 miles south of the junction of A4135 and B4058, you can follow the signs to Ozleworth, an atmospheric property in 700 acres of countryside.
In around 1550 Sir Nicholas Poyntz built a hunting lodge high on a ridge, the name Newark is derived from 'new work'. The lodge had four floors; a basement housing the kitchens and the ground floor the reception rooms, whilst the first floor had a banqueting room and the second floor bedchambers. Purchased by the Clutterbuck family in 1790, they employed the architect James Wyatt to improve the lodge to create a four square house.
In 1949 the property was given to the National Trust. The property is open for several weekends in the spring for the display of snowdrops, as well as being open in other months of the year.
As well as visiting the house there are acres of grounds to walk in.