The award-winning Lost Gardens of Heligan are made up of 200 acres of working productive gardens and pleasure grounds.
There have been gardens here at Heligan since 1603. The gardens were formalized and expanded in the early 18th century and reached their present size in 1780.
The Heligan estate, in the hands of the Tremayne family, had its heyday during the reign of Queen Victoria. In the 20th century the gardens fell into a decline and were virtually abandoned between 1914 - 1991.
Since that time the gardens have become the largest garden restoration project in Europe.
Huge quantities of fallen timber and brambles have been removed revealing 2.5 miles of footpaths hidden for 50 years.
The footpaths wander between the alpine Ravine, the walled gardens and glass-houses, the vinery, the Melon Yard, the Crystal Grotto, the Summer-houses, the Italian Garden, the 22 acre sub-tropical Jungle valley brimming with exotic foliage and many other features.
Heligan has woodland and farm walks through beautiful and sustainably-managed Cornish countryside, and a pioneering conservation project offers visitors a close-up view of the wildlife resident on the estate.
Over 5,000 new trees have been planted to provide shelter and care has been taken to conform to the original planting in all parts of the gardens.
The Heligan project is still in progress and before-and-after photographs give an idea of the impressive work so far achieved. The gardens now represent a living and working museum of 19th century horticulture.