The Blewcoat School was built in 1709 by William Green, a local brewer, as a charity school to teach pupils how to 'read, write, cast accounts and the catechism'. It remained as a school until 1939 and during World War II was used as an army store.
In 1954 the building was bought by the National Trust and used the beautifully proportioned interior to house the Trust's London Information Centre and shop.
Unfortunately, the charming red-brick building is rather dwarfed by the office towers of Victoria Street.
The National Trust has now closed it's centre here and this rather unique building is now rented out.